Download this event for iCal

Prague Symphony Orchestra


Bartered Bride Overture
Piano Concerto No.4
Adagio for Orchestra
Symphony No.6


Heiko Mathias Förster
Igor Tchetuev

The cultural ambassador for a city rich in classical music, the Prague Symphony Orchestra brings a programme including music from its homeland and Beethoven’s most poetic piano concerto.

The sensational, award-winning Russian pianist Igor Tchetuev consistently receives rave reviews for his lyrical as well as red-blooded playing. Born in Sebastopol (Ukraine) in 1980, at the age of 14 he won his first international competition. By the time he was 18, he was the First Prize Laureate of the Ninth Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition.

6.30pm: Pre-concert music by RCM students in the Culford Room
Smetana: String Quartet No.1 (From My Life)

Performers: Olivia Scheepers, violin, Magdalena Loth-Hill, violin, Duncan Anderson, viola, Florence Petit, cello}

{Part of Zurich International Concert Series 2012-13.

Part of Zurich International Concert Series 2012-13

St Petersburg Symphony Orchestra

Rachmaninov's Second Symphony and Paganini Rhapsody, with pianist Freddy Kempf, coupled with Vaughan Williams' Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis.

Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra

Sarah Chang performs Barber's beautiful Violin Concerto, framed by Brahms' Haydn Variations and Dvořák's Symphony No.9, 'From the New World'.

Staatskapelle Weimar

Beethoven's Coriolan Overture and First Piano Concerto, with soloist Nelson Goerner, and Brahms' Second Symphony, conducted by Stefan Solyom.

Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra

Bernstein's effervescent Candide Overture and the light-hearted energy of Shostakovich's Piano Concerto No.2, with soloist Noriko Ogawa, contrast with the grandeur of Schubert's 'Great' Ninth...

Brussels Philharmonic

Debussy's La Mer and Ravel's Bolero follow Beethoven's Egmont Overture and Bartók's lyrical Piano Concerto No.3, with soloist Markus Groh.

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

One of the greatest Russian orchestras begins its Tchaikovsky cycle with the popular First Piano Concerto and dramatic Fourth Symphony. Pavel Kogan conducts.

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

The Moscow Tchaikovsky cycle continues with the dramatic Fifth Symphony and Francesca da Rimini, plus the Rococo Variations with cellist Nina Kotova.

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

The final concert of the Moscow Tchaikovsky Cycle features the composer's Violin Concerto and Sixth Symphony, the 'Pathétique', plus the Polonaise and Waltz from Eugene Onegin.

‘Beaming like a laser, confident yet unaggressive, shining, colourful, structured without being rigid, the work of Igor Tchetuev makes every piece’s vital force emerge.’

Le Monde

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£39, £32, £26, £18
ENCORE Members pay £28 for top two prices
Series discounts of up to 30% available on top two ticket prices only – see series page for details

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Encore View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info