Download this event for iCal

Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra


Candide Overture
Concert Overture
Piano Concerto No.2
Symphony No.9 (Great)


Jacek Kaspszyk
Noriko Ogawa

Considered the leading Polish orchestra, the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra was founded in 1935 in Warsaw. We are very pleased to welcome them back under conductor Jacek Kaspszyk.

Internationally respected and with a wonderful dynamic range and colour palate, Noriko Ogawa performs Shostakovich’s Second Piano Concerto. The Concerto, written in 1957 as a birthday gift for his 19-year-old son Maxim, is full of light-hearted energy.

Often considered Schubert’s finest piece for orchestra, Symphony No.9, the ‘Great’, has an emphasis on melody throughout. Today, as we have become aware of the symphony’s extent and intensity, ‘Great’ has become an accepted part of the work’s title, reflecting the work’s grandeur.

NB. Please note: Due to circumstances beyond our control, Mikhail Rudy is unable to perform, as originally advertised. We are very grateful to the wonderful Noriko Ogawa for agreeing to perform at such short notice. The programme remains unchanged.

Part of Zurich International Concert Series 2012-13.

Part of Zurich International Concert Series 2012-13

St Petersburg Symphony Orchestra

Rachmaninov's Second Symphony and Paganini Rhapsody, with pianist Freddy Kempf, coupled with Vaughan Williams' Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis.

Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra

Sarah Chang performs Barber's beautiful Violin Concerto, framed by Brahms' Haydn Variations and Dvořák's Symphony No.9, 'From the New World'.

Prague Symphony Orchestra

A Czech programme including Dvořák's Sixth Symphony and works by Smetana and Janáček, alongside Beethoven's Piano Concerto No.4, with soloist Igor Tchetuev.

Staatskapelle Weimar

Beethoven's Coriolan Overture and First Piano Concerto, with soloist Nelson Goerner, and Brahms' Second Symphony, conducted by Stefan Solyom.

Brussels Philharmonic

Debussy's La Mer and Ravel's Bolero follow Beethoven's Egmont Overture and Bartók's lyrical Piano Concerto No.3, with soloist Markus Groh.

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

One of the greatest Russian orchestras begins its Tchaikovsky cycle with the popular First Piano Concerto and dramatic Fourth Symphony. Pavel Kogan conducts.

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

The Moscow Tchaikovsky cycle continues with the dramatic Fifth Symphony and Francesca da Rimini, plus the Rococo Variations with cellist Nina Kotova.

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

The final concert of the Moscow Tchaikovsky Cycle features the composer's Violin Concerto and Sixth Symphony, the 'Pathétique', plus the Polonaise and Waltz from Eugene Onegin.

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£39, £32, £26, £18
ENCORE Members pay £28 for top two prices
Series discounts of up to 30% available on top two ticket prices only – see series page for details

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Encore View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info