Download this event for iCal

Philharmonia Orchestra

Celebration of Russian Music

Venue: Cadogan Hall


Baba Yaga
Piano Concerto ‘Silentium’ (UK premiere)
Symphony No. 5


Eleonora Bekova
Marius Stravinsky

The critically acclaimed pianist Eleonora Bekova returns to Cadogan Hall with the Philharmonia Orchestra under the baton of the gifted young conductor Marius Stravinsky in a unique programme of 20th-century Russian music which combines much-loved classics and hidden gems.

Lyadov’s Baba-Yaga opens the concert, a dazzlingly colourful work based on Russian folk-tunes. It is followed by the UK premiere of Sergey Zhukov’s quietly intense and meditative Piano Concerto Silentium, which was composed especially for Bekova.

The evening receives a fitting finale with Prokofiev’s much-loved Fifth symphony composed in 1944, which celebrates the grandeur of the human spirit on an epic scale.

‘Eleonora Bekova is fantastic. She balances emotion, intellect and style beautifully and her touch can transform the piano into an instrument that sings like a human voice. Her brilliant technique is true to the Russian school of pianism from which she springs.’ (Martha Argerich)

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£35, £28, £20, £10
Concessions: £5 off top two prices

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info