Download this event for iCal

Philharmonia Orchestra


En Saga
Benjamin Ellin
Miyabi – concerto for violin and orchestra (world premiere)
Symphony No. 8


Mayuko Katsumura
Benjamin Ellin

Violinist Mayuko Katsumura and conductor Benjamin Ellin join the Philharmonia Orchestra in a programme featuring Sibelius’ revealing tone poem En saga before the conductor’s own and much anticipated violin concerto, Miyabi. This new work fuses together strands of Japanese folklore with the traditions from both performer’s cultures and is packed with musical drama, excitement, intensity and joy.

‘Ellin’s is a musical voice well worth getting acquainted with.’
(Richard Whitehouse, Gramophone, October 2012)

The concert concludes with the radiant Eighth Symphony by Dvořák, a masterpiece which brims with Bohemian folk-tunes, exhilarating orchestral sounds and beautiful harmonies. Little wonder this symphony is one of Dvořák’s most delightful, carefree works.

With grateful thanks to tonight’s sponsors:
Takara Shuzou, Yutaka – Tazaki Food and Dr Ito Clinic

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£25, £20, £15, £10
Students and senior citizens: 20% off

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info