Download this event for iCal

New York Polyphony

Tudor City


Andrew Smith
Surrexit Christus
Lionel Power
Beata progenies
John Dunstable
Speciosa facta es
Andrew Smith
Worcester fragments (1300) – Flos regalis
William Cornysh
Ave Maria Mater Dei
Andrew Smith
Ave Maris Stella
Walter Lambe
Stella caeli
Vier gesange für Männerstimme, Op. 17
Gregory Brown
Abschied vom Leser (New York Polyphony commission)
Gregory Brown
The Dying Californian
Gerald Finzi
Thou didst delight mine eyes, Op. 32
Clement Janequin
La guerre (La bataille de Marignan)

Based on New York Polyphony’s acclaimed 2010 Avie Records release, Tudor City is ‘a stunning tour through chant, polyphony, and renaissance harmonies’ (American Public Media). An allusion to the historic New York neighbourhood, Tudor City highlights the works of English composers active during the reign of the Tudor dynasty (1485-1603), effortlessly interspersed new works written for the quartet by Andrew Smith.

The second half of the programme explores works for male voices by Schubert and Finzi, as well as two commissioned works by American composer, Gregory Brown, and ending with Clement Janequin’s lively depiction of the Battle of Marignan in ‘La Guerre’.

Part of Choral at Cadogan 2011/12

The Tallis Scholars

A programme to celebrate the Magnificat, including music by Palestrina, Arvo Pärt, Tallis, Allegri, Byrd, and Praetrorius

The Wellensian Consort

A homage to the patron saint of music including works by Britten, Kodaly, Elgar, Vaughan Williams, Rutter, and more.

The Armonico Consort

Heirich Schütz is widely regarded as being the most important German composer prior to JS Bach, and is also thought to have studied with Monteverdi in Venice. The influence of Venetian music on...

The Choir of St John's College, Cambridge

The first half explores the rich soundworld of Henry Purcell, while the second half presents a Christmas selection - popular favourites and new works.

The Eric Whitacre Singers

A programme featuring some of Whitacre’s most famous works conducted by the composer himself, alongside pieces that have inspired him.

Ex Cathedra

Four of J.S. Bach's motets for single and double choir, interspersed with some of his solo cello suites.

The Tallis Scholars

Music by Jean Mouton and William Cornysh, originally performed to celebrate this spectacular event in 1520.

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£30, £26, £22, £18
ENCORE Members: £26 for top price tickets

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Encore View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info