Download this event for iCal

London Phoenix Orchestra

The Art and Folk Music of Eastern Europe

Venue: Cadogan Hall


Little Suite for orchestra
Violin Concerto
Roland Roberts
The Ninth Wave (world premiere)
Pictures at an Exhibition (arr. Ravel)


Ani Batikian
Lev Parikian

An evening of music inspired by the Art and Folk Music of Eastern Europe, journeying from Poland to the highlands of Armenia, through to Russia. The concert opens with Witold Lutosławski’s Little Suite. Then brilliant Armenian violinist Ani Batikian joins the London Phoenix Orchestra, conducted by Levon Parikian, in Aram Khachaturian’s exuberant Violin Concerto, a work inspired by the dances and folk melodies of the medieval Armenian bards called ashughs.

The orchestra continues with Roland Roberts’ world premiere of The Ninth Wave, a homage to the Russian-Armenian marine painter Ivan Aivazovsky and a celebration of the 200th anniversary of his birth. The evening is concluded by Maurice Ravel’s famous 1922 orchestral arrangement of Modest Mussorgsky’s evocative progress through his Pictures at an Exhibition.

The concert is sponsored by the Tekeyan Cultural Association which promotes British-Armenian arts, music and culture, and affiliated with the Tekeyan Trust, a UK-registered charity.

Ticket Information *

£25, £20, £15, £12, £10
ENCORE Members: £5 off top 3 ticket prices

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Encore View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info