Download this event for iCal

London Chamber Orchestra

Mozart and Mendelssohn

Venue: Cadogan Hall


Roxanna Panufnik
Two Composers, Four Hands (UK premiere)
Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major
Symphony No. 5 (Reformation)


Christopher Warren-Green
Yevgeny Sudbin

Mendelssohn himself banned his Fifth Symphony from being performed and wanted it destroyed. Which would be a terrible advert for it if he hadn’t been so completely, utterly, wrong. It’s a superbly crafted piece of music: grand, intellectual and remarkably human.

Of Mozart’s 27 piano concertos, number 21 is probably both the most well-known and the most technically challenging. And with good reason – written on a symphonic scale, it’s bursting with tunes and opera-like wit.

Part of London Chamber Orchestra 2018-19

London Chamber Orchestra

Mozart originally wrote this as a triple piano concerto, but later rearranged it for two pianos. Listen carefully and you can hear it – the thrill and complexity of the three parts being juggled...

London Chamber Orchestra

What does Italian baroque music have in common with Argentinian tango? They’re both full of rhythm and dance, both have freedom to embellish and improvise. Hear the two meet as we take one of...

London Chamber Orchestra

A youthful take on orchestral music: hear Prokofiev’s childhood classic narrated by his own grandson, Gabriel, alongside Gabriel’s acclaimed piece for DJ and orchestra – debuted at the proms in...

London Chamber Orchestra

‘Write something cheerful for a change,’ said Dvořák to his teenage pupil and future son-in-law, Josef Suk. His Serenade for Strings is the result – sunny, gentle, and overwhelmingly...

Ticket Information *

£40, £30, £20, £10
ENCORE Members: £5 off top price tickets
Students and Under 18s: £5 (available only in person with valid identification)

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Encore View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info