Download this event for iCal

London Chamber Orchestra

Venue: Cadogan Hall


Piano Concerto No. 1
Henry V (arr. Christopher Palmer)


Bertrand Chamayou
Simon Harrison
Christopher Warren-Green
  • Choir of Royal Holloway, University of London
  • Choristers of New College Oxford

“Chamayou’s musically insightful, technically flawless playing can be confused with no-one else’s.” (International Record Review, May 2014)

What links Mendelssohn and Walton? A love of Shakespeare, whose 400th anniversary falls in 2016. Mendelssohn’s enthusiasm found voice with his overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream, written when he was just 16. As a mature composer he returned to the play and added further numbers that recapture his youthful style with uncanny ease.

Similarly bucolic is Mendelssohn’s First Piano Concerto, which channels the spirit of Mozart to entirely personal effect. Walton’s music for Henry V perfectly complements Laurence Olivier’s 1944 film, but it was Christopher Palmer who developed an extended version that melds music and dialogue, bringing the drama fully alive.

Free early concert at 7pm in the auditorium:
LCO String Quartet performs a specially commissioned arrangement of Mendelssohn’s original music to A Midsummer Night’s Dream by Paul Max Edlin. This event is FREE but ticketed. Tickets/More info

Part of London Chamber Orchestra 2016-17

LCO String Quartet

A specially commissioned arrangement of Mendelssohn’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream to coincide with the Shakespeare 400 anniversary celebration.

London Chamber Orchestra

A programme of Haydn's Cello Concerto No. 1, with soloist Trey Lee, and Symphony No. 45 , the 'Farewell', and Beethoven's delightful Eighth Symphony.

London Chamber Orchestra

An all-Beethoven programme featuring his Piano Trio No. 11 (the 'Kakadu' variations), the Triple Concerto and the Fourth Symphony, with Lorenza Borrani, violin/director, Luise Buchberger, cello, and...

London Chamber Orchestra

A programme of John Adams' minimalist masterpiece Shaker Loops, Shostakovich's Piano Concerto No. 1 and Copland's Appalachian Spring, plus a new work by Paul Edlin performed by the young participants...

London Chamber Orchestra

Vladimir Ashkenazy conducts a programme including Sibelius' Violin Concerto with soloist Pekka Kuusisto, and Elgar's 'Enigma Variations'.

Comments powered by Disqus

Ticket Information *

£40, £30, £20, £10

Introduce a friend to classical music: buy one seat and get one FREE for this concert! Enter the promotional code LCOSHARE.

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info