Download this event for iCal

Kensington Symphony Orchestra

Venue: Cadogan Hall


Violin Concerto
Symphony No. 9 (Great)


Russell Keable
Fenella Humphreys

Written for the young virtuoso Samuel Dushkin, Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto was modelled on Bach, who inspired the bouncy motor rhythms of the opening Toccata, the beautiful cantilena of the second Aria and the leaping lines of the final Capriccio.

With its exceptional rhythmic energy and blissfully ardent slow movement, Schubert’s mighty Ninth Symphony, better known as the ‘Great’, is his orchestral masterpiece. Written in 1828, the year of his death, it was not performed until 1839, conducted by Mendelssohn, after being discovered by Schumann who intensely admired its ‘heavenly length’.

Concert Duration:
approx. 1 hour 40 mins (incl. interval)

Ticket Information *

£22.50, £20, £16, £13

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info