Download this event for iCal

Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Venue: Cadogan Hall


Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes
Xiaogan Ye
Cantonese Suite for orchestra, Op. 51 (GSO commission, 2005)
Lin Zhao
Duo for cello, sheng and orchestra (GSO co-commission, 2011)
The Firebird Suite (1919 version)


Jian Wang
Lei Jia
Long Yu

One of China’s most prestigious orchestras, the Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra undertakes its first UK tour under the baton of its esteemed Music Director, Long Yu. Founded in 1957, GSO is the first and only Chinese symphony orchestra to have toured and performed in five continents.

In this concert they reveal the burgeoning classical music scene in 21st-century China, with works from two leading Chinese composers. The atmospheric Duo, by film composer Lin Zhao, showcases the virtuosity of Jian Wang (cello) and Lei Jia (sheng). The orchestra also explore Western shores and folkloric fantasy with these iconic works by Britten and Stravinsky.

All Events

Next Event: Omar Kamal

Ticket Information *

£35, £28, £20, £10

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info