Download this event for iCal

Brussels Philharmonic


Egmont Overture
Piano Concerto No.3
La Mer


Michel Tabachnik
Markus Groh

The Brussels Philharmonic has performed with leading conductors and soloists and, in the course of its existence, has created new works by world-famous composers such as Stravinsky, Messiaen and Francesconi. Since 2008, Music Director Michel Tabachnik has been a key figure, combining the great orchestral repertoire with music from the 20th century.

Consistently cited for his ‘sound imagination’ with his playing praised as ‘impeccable’ (The Guardian), Markus Groh has confirmed his place among the finest pianists in the world today. For this concert he performs Bartók’s Piano Concerto No.3, written at the end of the composer’s life, perhaps reflected in the more serene and lyrical nature of the work.

Part of Zurich International Concert Series 2012-13.

6.30pm: Pre-concert music by Royal College of Music students
Ravel: Ma mère l’oye Suite (for wind quintet)

Part of Zurich International Concert Series 2012-13

St Petersburg Symphony Orchestra

Rachmaninov's Second Symphony and Paganini Rhapsody, with pianist Freddy Kempf, coupled with Vaughan Williams' Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis.

Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra

Sarah Chang performs Barber's beautiful Violin Concerto, framed by Brahms' Haydn Variations and Dvořák's Symphony No.9, 'From the New World'.

Prague Symphony Orchestra

A Czech programme including Dvořák's Sixth Symphony and works by Smetana and Janáček, alongside Beethoven's Piano Concerto No.4, with soloist Igor Tchetuev.

Staatskapelle Weimar

Beethoven's Coriolan Overture and First Piano Concerto, with soloist Nelson Goerner, and Brahms' Second Symphony, conducted by Stefan Solyom.

Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra

Bernstein's effervescent Candide Overture and the light-hearted energy of Shostakovich's Piano Concerto No.2, with soloist Noriko Ogawa, contrast with the grandeur of Schubert's 'Great' Ninth...

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

One of the greatest Russian orchestras begins its Tchaikovsky cycle with the popular First Piano Concerto and dramatic Fourth Symphony. Pavel Kogan conducts.

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

The Moscow Tchaikovsky cycle continues with the dramatic Fifth Symphony and Francesca da Rimini, plus the Rococo Variations with cellist Nina Kotova.

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

The final concert of the Moscow Tchaikovsky Cycle features the composer's Violin Concerto and Sixth Symphony, the 'Pathétique', plus the Polonaise and Waltz from Eugene Onegin.

‘A new star in the pianistic firmament’

Neue Zürcher Zeitung

Ticket Information *

£39, £32, £26, £18
ENCORE Members pay £28 for top two prices
Series discounts of up to 30% available on top two ticket prices only – see series page for details

* All orders are subject to a transaction fee, except if made in person. See Booking Information for details, payment methods and delivery options.

Encore View Seating Plan Further Ticket Info